August Monthly Review

Another month.

My focus for this month was that of doing my physio exercises. I started well with a chain of 7 created in July. I managed to continue for another 10 days, making it 17 in total. That was the longest I would get it this month.

I lost my chain for 4 days and then restarted it. When Wednesday came along I did not do it before going to gymnastics and afterwards, I was tired and did not do it. The rest of the month was fitful and did not have chains longer than 2 days. The days when I did do it I did it before going to gymnastics. Leaving it for afterwards, when I had walked back and was exhausted did not succeed.

Getting to all that I wanted to do seemed hard. It felt like the week had only begun before it was time to do a book review or write a blog post once again. I can definitely improve in that aspect by planning ahead what I will read as well as general time management.

My experimental week where I did not attempt to do academic work was instructive. By chunking a lot of social interaction in a short space I have already adjusted and started calibrating in a another direction.

My learning Zulu from the gate guards also moved forward: I now know 20 words easily and 10 more barely.

As for my overarching narrative I still feel that there is something lacking. I want to move out and go and work, yet I also want to stay and get very good marks for my matric. Getting sick this past weekend was also not a pleasant experience. I am grateful for it, for by feeling really bad I re-appreciate just feeling normal and non-delirious once more. But I don’t want to be sick deliberately.

For the next month I will not choose one focus and track that. I am going to do 3-day iterations and review after each. Iterate what? My eating habits. I have not felt in control or highly supported by the food that I have eaten these last few months. I am above my ideal weight with somewhere between two and five kilograms. I don’t like it. I think it is easier to never get fat than it is to become thin again. So now I will give it focus until it is once more a place of strength.

 

3 thoughts on “August Monthly Review

  1. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your site. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a developer to create your theme? Outstanding work!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Another narrative fails | joshuatotheworld

Prove me wrong!

