Book Review:A Brief History of Everything by Ken Wilber

Rating: 5/5

One sentence: Creates a general framework that allows a much deeper level of interpretation of the entire world.

First off, let me say how impressive Ken is. He references and uses understanding from so many sources, that even if he used speed reading I stand amazed at his sheer scale. For how widely he spreads his attention, he still maintains a lot of depth.

A Brief History of Everything gives an epistemological framework for people in any field. He elicits and skillfully describes patterns whose thin thread run through many ideas, books and whole fields of research. His holistic model truly is holistic. He addresses not only science and technology but also the corresponding cultural and spiritual development and unfolding. He shows the interplay that is at the heart of all human societies and defines their daily existence.

He is not infallible, as to be expected when you touch only lightly on subjects, and some things he says are incorrect. The ones I picked up were in regards to facts he mentions about evolution. He definitely also misinterpreted some of the philosophers he mentions. I did not pick up those mistakes because I do not have the necessary expertise in Western or Eastern writings myself.

I am still constantly finding new understanding and insights by applying some of his ideas to ones that I have thought about. Some of my mental models about reality have now become much clearer and easier to visualize.

He introduces quite a few new concepts of his own, but considering what a unique perspective he brings to life, he manages to keep them within a tolerable level. You learn a few new words, but you don’t have to learn a whole new language just to understand him.

I found this book highly insightful, thought-provoking and well-presented. I look forward to reading his other books.

To happiness, and beyond!

 

Prove me wrong!

