How to get smarter and more fit at the same time.

Every day I go walk at least once and most days I try to go for a walk in the morning and in the evening. This is really a part of the day that always brings me joy. While I walk I listen to podcasts on many topics. I get my body moving and my brain is fed delicious new information to ponder and integrate. During the rest of the day, the amount of time I spend sitting continues to surprise me, despite my efforts to sit less.

I listen to podcasts at 1.5x or 2x speed. Why? Because we can usually understand what someone is saying faster than they can say it. I listen to podcasts at maximum comprehensible speed.(If I cannot distinguish the words it’s too fast.) This is an example where a tiny habit change has profoundly better results over time. The length of time I listen to podcasts is not really affected by this, but I absorb 50% more content.

Boring story about how I started:

My habit of going for walks started when I became tired of doing homework or wanted to clear my head after studying. Not just walking, riding bike or jogging have also served the same purpose. I only recently started listening to podcasts when I noticed that I like walking but turned back because I became bored. I soon ran out of good content after I finished the archives of my initial subscriptions.

This habit is awesome. What else do YOU do to maintain your brain and body at the same time?

To happiness, and beyond!

Prove me wrong!

