Lifelong learning

If you are in a situation where there seem to be many options, how do you know which option to choose? You can mimic other people such as your family, friends or celebrities. You can choose one and experience it for a while to see whether you like it. An option that is always available is to try and improve your options.

When you were a little kid you knew a lot less about how the world works. You thought that there is more water if you pour it into a bigger container. You believed in magic and that your parents were superheroes. My model of the world does not validate these statements in the least. Within my current model, my model seems superior to the model I had as a child that did contain these “invalid” assumptions. By obtaining more knowledge and experience I have built a (hopefully) more accurate mental construct of life.

Some of the knowledge I have obtained was not really chosen. I did not choose to be exposed to things that made my previous assumptions invalid. It just happened. I did not consciously set out to prove or disprove my predictions about the sound of rain or the texture of sand. A small handful of the beliefs that I have let go of in my life were consciously chosen. My opinion on religion, for instance, has changed as a result of my conscious seeking and evaluation of evidence.

Human life is but a brief affair and we do not have nearly the time to explore even a fraction of the available options. For certain choices, we can make reasonably accurate predictions as to how they will turn out. If you do not brush and floss your teeth, the probability of getting many cavities rises. What the eventual outcome of moving to another country or city will be can be nearly impossible to predict.

Luckily we do not have to rely exclusively on our own experiences and thoughts about life. We can access other people’s experiences and opinions through conversations, videos, books and in the case of Ancient Egyptians their hieroglyphs. We can get input from people who are long dead and lived in unrecognizably different environments and eras.

The more knowledge we assimilate and wisdom we(hopefully) gain, the better we can make decisions about which options to explore further and which to abandon as dead ends. The questions we ask develop and with them our answers.

These are the reasons why in my model of life, improving the model (aka conscious growth) is the most sensible strategy for fulfillment.

To happiness, and beyond!

Prove me wrong!

