Lactic acid does not cause muscle soreness- My summary

I did parkour at Spring Parkour Academy yesterday; today almost my whole body is sore. I read up on lactic acid and this is what I found: it is produced when you exercise heavily without sufficient oxygen supply and your body produces energy an-aerobically. After 1 to 3 minutes you reach a maximum level of acid and cannot exercise as hard. This appears to be a defense mechanism that prevents overexertion and extreme damage to your muscles. However, this is not why you get stiff and sore after strenuous exercise. 1 hour after exercising lactic acid has left your muscles and does not further affect you. Delayed Onset Muscle Soreness or DOMS is responsible for stiff and swollen muscles. Researchers are not certain why this happens, but suspect a mixture of muscle damage and inflammation that lead to elevated levels of certain metabolic substances.

Well, doesn’t really help me as far as stiff muscles go, but it sure is interesting.

To happiness, and beyond!

One thought on “Lactic acid does not cause muscle soreness- My summary

  1. To prevent extreme pain and stiffness drink milk and lie on your back with your legs at a 45°-60° angle against a wall or something.

    -it is interesting, now I’m just more curious 🙈

    Like

Prove me wrong!

